SayWhatClub

SWC BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING 10/9/2018

6:00 PM PACIFIC

7:00 PM MOUNTAIN

8:00 PM CENTRAL

9:00 PM EASTERN

WEDNESDAY 10/10/18 @ 2:00 PM NEW ZEALAND TIME (ROBYN CARTER)

_________________________________________________________

PRESENT:

Donald Dippner / Linda Binns / Kim Ward / Leslie Cotter / Robyn Carter / Michele Linder.  Absent : Chelle Wyatt.

__________________________________________________________________

Meeting Chair:  Leslie Cotter

Liaisons:

HC- Kim Ward

CSC – Leslie Cotter

Social Media: Robyn Carter

LRC: Chelle Wyatt (absent)

Spirit: Linda Binns

Website:  https://www.saywhatclub.org / blog: https://www.saywhatclub.org/saywhatclub-blog

Facebook Groups:  Friends with Hearing Loss / Generation – Y

https://www.facebook.com/groups/SWCFriends/ Generation Y:

Treasurer’s Report – Michele Linder / Sept. 1, 2018 through Sept. 28, 2018.

Bank Balance:

Convention: $ 25,807.13

Main: $ 13,567.38

Total: $ 39,374.51

*amount matches our combined Chase Bank account balance

PayPal Balance: $0.00

Treasurer’s report was submitted, discussed and approved.  See above.

Moved by Michele Linder, 2nd by Donald Dippner to approve all other committee reports.  No further discussion, all approved.

After lengthy discussion, it was determined that the annual convention report will continue to be included in the minutes. Moved by Leslie Cotter, 2nd by Linda Binns.  Vote: 5 in favor, 1 opposed, 1 absent.   Report posted below: (BEGIN ANNUAL CONVENTION REPORT)

2018 SAYWHATCLUB ANNUAL CONVENTION FINAL REPORT

 Prepared by Michele Linder

 Conference Name: 2018 SayWhatClub Convention

 Dates of Convention: August 1-4, 2018

 Location of Convention: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotels – Downtown Saint Paul, MN

ACTUAL REVENUE

 Registration Total $ 8,315.00

 Sponsorship Total $ 4,150.00

Jazzy Wingert Memorial Scholarship Fund $ 546.10

 Private Donations Total $ 660.00

 Prepaid Activities $ 2,191.00

 Total Revenue: $15,862.10

Comments on Revenue:

Scholarship: The Jazzy Wingert Memorial Scholarship was awarded to a first-time convention attendee. Funds remaining for future cons: $6,844.85

ACTUAL EXPENSE

 2019 Scouting: $ 847.00

 Bank & PayPal Fees (Registration/Sponsorship/Activities) $ 255.45

 Hotel – Banquet/Food/Beverage/AV Total $ 9,485.13

 Tote Bags (Donated) w/SWC Labels $ 23.41

 Scholarships Total: $ 1,963.35

 Accessibility Expenses Total (CART, ASL, Hearing Loop) $ 2,536.90

 Prepaid Activities Total: $ 2,314.25

 Starkey Tour Transportation Total: $ 270.00

 Total Expense: $17,695.49

 LOSS: $1,833.39

GENERAL CONFERENCE INFORMATION

Registration Total: 66 Attendance: 67

 Activity Participation ・Tin Whiskers Brewery Tour/Tasting: 23 ・Saint Paul Bus Tour: 28

James J. Hill House Tour: 29 ・Gangster Tour: 36 ・

St. Paul Saints Baseball: 24

 Fundraisers Silent Auction Total $2,153.00

 50/50 Raffle $ 402.00

 Fundraiser Total $2,555.00”

END CONVENTION ANNUAL REPORT

HC Chair Election and LRC Chair Election to begin committee discussion in October.

BOD NOMINATIONS: 2 board members have reached the end of their first term. Nominations will be taken to fill one confirmed upcoming vacancy and one position open for re-election.  Notification to the lists, requesting nominations, upcoming soon. 

Motion  by Michele Linder for Donald  Dippner to be declared acting secretary, to conduct SayWhatClub business with Chase bank, in full capacity, including for the purpose of changing signers on all SayWhatClub accounts.  2nd by Kim Ward.  Unanimous vote, all approve. 

Meeting adjourned 7:06 pm Pacific / 8:06 pm Mountain /9:06 pm Central / 10:06 pm Eastern / Wednesday 10/10/18 3:06 pm New Zealand